处理设备

本废电器电子产品处理及回收设施(处理设施)将会是香港首个透过收集、分类、除毒、拆解、破碎以处理电视机、洗衣机、电冰箱、空调机、电脑、列印机、扫描器和显示器。在德国顶尖科技的协助下,ALBA IWS 的循环再造率高达80%。

设计

处理设施包括一系列绿化建筑的特色,包括重用建筑时产生的泥土;采用天然光及通风;收集雨水以用作灌溉;提供攀缘植物的绿墙;使用太阳能热水系统等。透过这些方法,ALBA IWS力求在这个项目的各个阶段,都能结合和应用绿色建筑的原则。

处理设施亦设有教育中心和观景长廊。参观者将可以沿长廊步行,观看电器废物由运抵设施以至送到处理区作循环再造的整个运作过程。

营运

在处理设施内,状况良好的电器废物经挑选及翻新后,会经与ALBA IWS合作的非牟利机构,捐赠予有需要的本地家庭。不能翻新的电器废物将被拆解以移除部份零件,如压缩器、电线、电容器及线圈等作回收用途。有毒物质如制冷剂、含水银背灯的屏幕、阴极射线管电视机/显示器的含铅玻璃等,将在受管控的环境下移除及作适当的处理。余下的可循环再用物料将会被切碎并分类,如金属及塑胶,以作为二级原材料重用。

处理设施将会处理每年30,000公吨的受管制电器废物,将其变成有用物料,并可按需求在营运上增加额外的轮班编制,以增加其处理量至57,000公吨。 处理设施的主大楼建筑工程已于2016年1月展开,目标于2017年投入服务。

处理设施内四大主要回收线

Treatment Facility

The WEEE Treatment and Recycling Facility (WEEETRF) will be the first of its kind in Hong Kong to collect, sort, detoxicate, dismantle and recycle television sets, washing machines, refrigerators, air conditioners, as well as computers and certain associated devices including printers, scanners, and monitors. With ALBA IWS state of the art German technology, it will be able to deliver exceptional recycling rates of over 80%.

Design

The WEEETRF includes a wide range of sustainable green features. These features include reuse of excavated material; adoption of natural lighting and ventilation; rainwater harvesting for irrigation; provision of green walls comprising hardy native climbing plants; use of solar hot water system, etc. By all these means, ALBA IWS strives to incorporate and apply green building principles at the various stages of the project’s life-cycle.

The Facility will also accommodate an education area and viewing gallery which allows visitors to view the WEEE recycling process from delivery to processing.

Operation

Appliances in good condition will be picked out and refurbished for donation to deserving Hong Kong families by an NGO engaged by ALBA IWS. The complex e-waste will be dismantled to remove elements of the equipment, for example, compressors, cable, capacitors and coils, for recycling. Toxic substances, such as refrigerants, mercury-containing backlight of flat panels and leaded glass of cathode ray tube televisions will be removed in a controlled environment and sent separately for proper treatment. The remaining recyclable components will then be shredded and sorted into different types of useful materials, such as metals and plastics for reuse as secondary raw materials.

The facility will transform up to 30,000 tonnes of regulated e-waste into valuable raw materials each year. The capacity can be increased up to 57,000 tonnes by arranging additional shifts for the operation of the facility on a demand basis. The construction of the main building started in January 2016 and the facility is expected to be operational by mid-2017.

Four Main Treatment Line in TRF